TBSHL: 1954-55

The 1954-55 Fort William Beavers squad captured the Thunder Bay Senior Hockey League title as well as the Patton Cup, emblematic of Western Canadian senior champions, before falling in the 1955 Allan Cup final to the Kitchener-Waterloo Dutchmen. Photo courtesy Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame.


FRONT ROW (left-to-right)
Alex ‘Moe’ Irving (centre), Paul Morin (goaltender/ with black eye), Tom Konderka (stick boy)

MIDDLE ROW (lefttoright)
Ernie Oakley (right defence), Alex Birukow (centre), Morris Saplywy (right wing), John Irving (left wing/Asst. Captain/(behind)/ ‘A’ on shirt), Jerry Kirk (centre/Asst. Captain /‘A’ on shirt), Gordon ‘Buck’ Forslund (left wing/defence), Gino Antoniazzi (right defence/Captain), Peter Goegan (left wing), Morris Hamilton (centre/ in front with bottle), Tom Kompon (right wing), Vic Kryluk (left wing/in front with bottle), Bob Drainville (left defence/player coach)

BACK ROW (lefttoright)
Joe MacArthur (Manager/wearing fedora), Bruce Corness (centre), Art Kirk (left wing/in striped tie), Joe Konderka (Trainer), Lou Milani (right wing), Harold Brayshaw (right defence), Ted Avison (goaltender), George Nesbitt (Assistant Trainer), Jim Jessiman (President).